Forrest Gump

Forrest Gump (Tom Hanks) My mama always said life was like a box of chocolates. You never know what you’re gonna get.

 

Mrs. Gump (Sally Field) Remember what I told you, Forrest. You’re no different than anybody else is. Did you hear what I said, Forrest? You’re the same as everybody else. You are no different.

Principal (Sam Anderson) Your boy’s… different, Miz Gump. His IQ’s 75.

Mrs. Gump Well, we’re all different, Mr. Hancock.

 

Mrs. Gump defines vacation. Vacation’s when you go somewhere… and you don’t ever come back.

 

Jenny Curran (Robin Wright) Do you ever dream, Forrest, about who you’re gonna be?

Forrest Gump Who I’m gonna be?

Jenny Curran Yeah.

Forrest Gump Aren’t, aren’t I going to be me?

 

Jenny Curran Have you ever been with a girl, Forrest?

Forrest Gump I sit next to them in my home economics class all the time.

 

President Kennedy (Jed Gillin) Congratulations. How do you feel?

Forrest Gump I gotta pee.

 

Forrest Gump My name’s Forrest Gump. People call me Forrest Gump.

 

Drill Sergeant (Afemo Omilami) Gump! What’s your sole purpose in this army?

Forrest Gump To do whatever you tell me, drill sergeant?

Drill Sergeant God damn it, Gump! You’re a goddamn genius. That’s the most outstanding answer I’ve ever heard. You must have a goddamn IQ of 160. You are goddamn gifted, Private Gump. Listen up, people…

Forrest Gump Now for some reason I fit in the army like one of them round pegs. It’s not really hard. You just make your bed real neat and remember to stand up straight and always answer every question with "Yes, drill sergeant."

Drill Sergeant …Is that clear?

Forrest Gump Yes, drill sergeant!

 

Bubba Blue (Mykelti Williamson) Shrimp is the fruit of the sea. You can barbecue it, boil it, broil it, bake it, sautee it. There’s, um, shrimp kebabs, shrimp creole, shrimp gumbo, pan fried, deep fried, stir fried. There’s pineapple shrimp and lemon shrimp, coconut shrimp, pepper shrimp, shrimp soup, shrimp stew, shrimp salad, shrimp and potatoes, shrimp burger, shrimp sandwich… That’s, that’s about it.

 

Jenny Curran You can’t keep trying to rescue me all the time.

Forrest Gump They was trying to grab you.

Jenny Curran A lot of people try to grab me.

 

Jenny Curran Can I have a ride?

Pickup Truck Driver (Russ Wilson) Where are you going?

Jenny Curran I don’t care.

 

Forrest Gump He was from a long great military tradition. Somebody from his family had fought and died in every single American war. I guess you could say he had a lot to live up to.

 

Forrest Gump Lieutenant Dan was always getting these funny feelings about a rock or a trail or the road, so he’d tell us to get down, shut up.

Lt. Dan Taylor (Gary Sinise) Get down! Shut up!

Forrest Gump So we did.

 

Forrest Gump listing some of his comrades. There was Dallas, from Phoenix; Cleveland–he was from Detroit; and Tex–well, I don’t remember where Tex come from.

 

Forrest Gump In the land of China, people hardly got nothing at all.

John Lennon (Joe Stefanelli) No possessions?

Forrest Gump And in China they never go to church.

John Lennon No religion too?

Dick Cavett Ah. Hard to imagine.

John Lennon Well, it’s easy if you try, Dick.

 

Forrest Gump Stupid is as stupid does.

 

Forrest Gump Lieutenant Dan, what are you doing here?

Lt. Dan Taylor Well, I thought I’d try out my sea legs.

Forrest Gump But you ain’t got no legs, Lieutenant Dan.

 

Mrs. Gump Don’t you be afraid, sweetheart. Death is just a part of life, something we’re all destined to do.

 

Mrs. Gump I happen to believe you make your own destiny. You have to do the best with what God gave you.

Forrest Gump What’s my destiny, Mama?

Mrs. Gump You’re gonna have to figure that out for yourself. Life is a box of chocolates, Forrest. You never know what you’re gonna get.

 

Forrest Gump referring to Apple Computer He got me invested in some kinda fruit company.

 

Jenny throws several rocks at her former home and then collapses in tears.

Forrest Gump Sometimes I guess there just aren’t enough rocks.

 

Forrest Gump I’m not a smart man, but I know what love is.

 

Forrest Gump That day, for no particular reason, I decided to go for a little run. So I ran to the end of the road. And when I got there, I thought maybe I’d run to the end of town. And when I got there, I thought maybe I’d just run across Greenbow County. And I figured, since I run this far, maybe I’d just run across the great state of Alabama. And that’s what I did. I ran clear across Alabama. For no particular reason I just kept on going. I ran clear to the ocean. And when I got there, I figured, since I’d gone this far, I might as well turn around, just keep on going. When I got to another ocean, I figured, since I’d gone this far, I might as well just turn back, keep right on going. When I got tired, I slept. When I got hungry, I ate. When I had to go… you know… I went.

 

Bumper sticker maker You just ran through a big pile of dog shit.

Forrest Gump It happens.

Bumper sticker maker What, shit?

Forrest Gump Sometimes.

 

Forrest Gump My mama always said you got to put the past behind you before you can move on.

 

Forrest Gump It was so beautiful.

Jenny Curran I wish I could’ve been there with you.

Forrest Gump You were.

 

Forrest Gump I don’t know if we each have a destiny, or if we’re all just floatin’ around accidental-like on a breeze. But I, I think maybe it’s both, maybe both happening at the same time.

Leave a Reply

