Parenting: respectful communication

During the coloring, Eric would show me his progress once he thought he finished coloring of one color (There were numbers 1-8 in the color sheet.  Different numbers requested different colors in the particular areas.)  I would inspect the picture for him.

Whenever I found that he overlooked some small separate areas with the same number, I would ask him prudently in advance with the most sincere tone, “Nice work, Eric.  Can I give you a suggestion?”

“Sure.” Eric replied cheerfully.

“Look at here.  Here is also the area for color number 2.  Do you think we should color it as well with the same color?” I said in a very sincere, asking-for-advice tone.

“Yeah.” Eric gladly agreed with me. He took over the paper for further polish immediately.

I am very sensible at dealing with this issue.  I communicated with Eric reasonably, and he also felt the respect from me and responded brightly.  Otherwise, if I communicated with Eric in a critical tone to question him why he missed coloring certain area, he would feel frustration and lose interest to continue coloring.

Respect is needed both for adults and for little kids.

Leave a Reply

