Parenting: “I love myself!”

Eric and I had a chitchat the other day.

After I said “I love you Eric,” Eric replied,”I love you, mom; I love daddy, I love Zoey, and…” after a few seconds, he continued meekly, “I love myself!”

This last part is remarkable. I was impressed by Eric’s reply.

Noticing a slight hesitance in his tone, I reassured with him, “Yeah, well said, Eric.  Only we  love ourselves first, can we overflow our love into other people.  There is no shame about loving ourselves.”  🙂

 

One thought on “Parenting: “I love myself!”

Leave a Reply

