Books I read in April

Recently I have plenty of time to read books.  Good for me.  At the same time, I found a fun way to read books:  read out loudly.  I learned this method from Lincoln who once said,”when I read aloud, two senses catch the idea: first, I see what I read; second, I hear it, and therefore I can remember it better.”  Besides, I have an additional benefit by reading aloud: to practice my English pronunciation.

Oh, a little digress.  OK, here are the books I read in April:

  • The 7 habits of highly effective people by Steven R. Covey.  This is classic. Enlightened me a lot.  I have drafted out my personal mission statement based on the idea from this book.  This book inspires me to maintain a proactive and abundant mindset, and take courage for win-win solutions all the time.  My feeling is that if I can thoroughly read and understand this book, and apply what I learn from this book to my own life, my life should be much more fulfilling.  So I plan to buy a hard copy of this book and make it one of my essential books.
  • The happiness project by Gretchen Rubin.  First I read an article about her one sentence journal, then I read her blog, and now I finished reading her book.  The book is very good.  I plan to read it one more time so I can follow suit to apply my own happiness project step by step, month by month.  Currently I am maintaining a happiness journal which I attribute the idea to this book too.  From reading this book, I also get below illumination: reading a lot of books, tons of books, is really helpful; apply what we learned from books to daily life, instead of reading and leaving behind; be open-minded to share your thoughts with others and ask for advice.
  • How to develop self-confidence & influence people by public speaking by Dale Carnegie.  Another classic.  This is the second time I read through this book. And this time I read it through audibly.  Now I am in the process of reading it for the third time.  One of the reasons that I love to read the book is that, besides all the wise points from the author, I found that the language used in this book is very elegant.
  • Fellowship with the Lord for the mingling of God with man by Witness Lee.  This book is full of spiritual enlightenment, especially for new believers.  I profited a lot from this book.
  • Pollyanna by Eleanor H. Porter.  This is a classic book for young adult.  I am deeply impressed by Pollyanna’s positive attitude toward life.  Quote from the book: “And most generally there is something about everything that you can be glad about, if you keep hunting long enough to find it.”  Ah, it’s so uplifting and encouraging.
Leave a Reply

