The books I read in May

My reading enthusiasm was subsided a little bit in May.  For most of the books I finished reading in May, I didn’t follow the habit of reading out aloud.  I hope I can persistent in reading more quality books in the coming months.  Here are the books I finished in May.

1. How to talk so kids will listen & listen so kids will talk by Adele Faber and Elaine Mazlish.  This book is classic.  I use some of the advice in the book when I interact with Eric.  The result is surprisingly effective.  Reading once is just not enough.  It is worth reading and reading again so that the theory in book can be put in practice naturally.  I plan to read it once more in June.


2.  The story of soul (l’Histoire d’une Âme). This book is the autobiography of Thérèse of Lisieux.  I was deeply moved by the story and her pure love for the Lord Jesus of Sister Thérèse of the Child Jesus.  I had to admit that the language used in the book is kinda abstruse, and sometimes difficult to analyse and understand the long sentences.  Will re-read the book once more in the near future.

3. How to develop self-confidence & influence people by public speaking by Dale Carnegie. Re-read this book in May. More is here.

4. The bridge and channel of God by Witness Lee.  This book was written in Chinese.  A sister from the church lent to me.  More is here.

5. Fact, Faith, and Experience by Watchman Nee.  This book is good at clarifying some points regarding faith.  With every spiritual experience the principle is the same:  first there is the mountaintop feeling of joy, then there is the experience of the tunnel, and then another mountaintop joy that is genuine.  After this, what we have obtained is real.

6. Vera Wang by Anne M Todd.   Vera Wang is a household name and synonymous to upscale wedding gown.

7. Oprah Winfrey by Sara Mclntosh Wooten. More is here.

Leave a Reply

