Parenting: OK, let’s play

The other day, during a casual talk, I told Eric that when daddy was at his age, daddy could read books all day long, and was very interested in math. Secretly, I had two purposes to say this: 1. to motivate Eric to ; 2. to set up the Husband’s brilliant image in Eric’s mind.

Eric’s response was totally beyond my expectation. He asked,”did he know how to play?” For a moment, I didn’t know how to answer.  To be honest, I was deeply impressed by a four-year-old’s pointed remarks. It hits the nail on the head.

“All work and no play makes Jack a dull boy.” This is a familiar saying.  I am Chinese.  But I am not a tiger mother by any means.  However, sometimes I become very pressured and tend to be kind of pushy, especially when I knew several friends’ three-year-old kids have already begun piano and swimming classes.  I definitely need a clear reminder (like the one from Eric’s reply) to make me recognize that play is still preschoolers’ main job.

Eric is climbing up a tree 🙂

We plan to give Eric more time to play, at least for the time before he attends elementary school.  After all, play is the path that young children take to learn. Learn though play will be more fun.

Leave a Reply

