Bible Reading | Deny the self

Galatians 2:20

 I am crucified with Christ; and it is no longer I who live, but it is Christ who lives in me; and the life which I now live in the flesh I live in faith, the faith of the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself up for me.

Subjectively experience life

Our old man has been crucified with Jesus.  This is an objective fact.  When we became Christians, we admitted and accepted this fact.  However, when it comes to subjectively experiencing life, there is much more to it.  When Lord was crucified, He solved the problems of our old man.  Since our old man has many facet, there are likewise many aspects of dealings in our experience.  We have to deal with soul life, flesh, temper, self, and the breaking the natural constitution.

The subjective experience of dealing with self is the Holy Spirit.  If we have seen the fact that our old man has been crucified, then in our daily living, whenever we discover our expressing of our own ideas and opinions, we must let the Holy Spirit work the death of the cross upon our ideas and opinions to put them to death.

Deny the self and live by Christ in spirit

We should live in spirit.  Galatians 2:20 says, “It is no longer I.” “I” is the self; “I” is the soul, and soul consists of three parts: mind, emotion, and will.  “No longer I” means no longer mind, emotion, and will; will but “Christ who lives in me.”  Christ lives in me, in my spirit, and we have to learn to deny the self and live by Christ in spirit.

 Giving up our natural life

Our old man, our life of soul has been crucified with Christ. We now have to take the Lord as our life.  We take the Lord in our spirit as our life.  This doesn’t mean, however, we’ll have to give up the faculties of our soul, but the life of the soul.  We’ll keep the faculties of our soul to be used by Lord in spirit.

 

Leave a Reply

